Friday, November 28, 2014

2015 Milan-San Remo Finish Moves Back to Via Roma

The Milan–San Remo goes back to its traditions to set up a spectacular finale on the classic Via Roma finish line, which has played a key role in the history of this "monument" race.

Also known as “La Primavera”, the Milan–San Remo is organized by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport and will be held on March 22. It will run a very similar course as the 2014 edition – with the key points on Passo del Turchino, Capo Mele, Capo Cervo, Capo Berta, Cipressa and Poggio di Sanremo – but has a substantial change for the finale.

Compared to the Piazzale Calvino finish, which had 3km from the Poggio descent to the finish line and has been used for the last few editions, the Via Roma finish line will shortens this distance to “only” 2km.

This change will make the race even more open and unpredictable – until the final moments – with the attackers having more chances to anticipate the fast wheels of the peloton. The total distance will therefore go from 294km to 293km from 2015.

The last winner on the Via Roma was the Spanish rider Oscar Freire, in 2007.

Eddy Merckx is the record holder, with 7 victories in this “Classicissima di Primavera”, winning the race in 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1975 and 1976, with each of these on the Via Roma finish line – showing how the finale of this race can be open to many solutions.


from 1907 to 1948 finish in Corso Cavallotti
from 1949 to 1985 finish in Via Roma
from 1986 to 1993 finish in Corso Cavallotti
from 1994 to 2007 finish in Via Roma
from 2008 to 2014 finish in Piazzale Italo Calvino

Content for the Italian Cycling Journal is now based upon contributions from readers. Please contribute. Stories about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, racing, etc. are always welcome. Contact me at

No comments:

Post a Comment