Monday, February 12, 2007

Giro d' Italia & Verona History

The Giro has had stages ending in Verona 17 times in the past. This year the individual time trial from Bardolino to Verona could determine the outcome of the race if the previous two days in the mountains have not crowned the champion.

Past winners in Verona:

1924 Arturo Ferrario Р1925 Costante Girardengo Р1926 Alfredo Binda Р1927 Alfredo Binda Р1940 Gino Bartali Р1946 Orese Conte Р1957 Rik Van Steenbergen Р1959 Miguel Poblet Р1960 André Darrigade Р1964 Vendramino Bariviera Р1967 Ole Ritter (crono ind.) Р1973 Rik Van Linden Р1976 Ercole Gualazzini Р1981 Knut Knudsen (crono ind.) Р1984 Francesco Moser (crono ind.) Р1985 Francesco Moser (cronoprologo) Р1997 Mirko Gualdi

Map: June 2, 2007, individual time trial route

No comments:

Post a Comment