Saturday, September 29, 2012

Buongiorno Il Lombardia

Newly crowned world champion Philippe Gilbert at the sign-in:

Felice Gimondi, celebrating his 70th birthday, starts the race of 197 riders from 25 teams:

Race favorites: World Champion Philippe Gilbert; Vuelta and Milano-Torino winner Alberto Contador;  Giro d’Italia winner Ryder Hesjedal; Joaquin Rodriguez (a specialist in steep climbs);  Vincenzo Nibali (splendid protagonist last year),  winner of Gran Piemonte Rigoberto Uran Uran; Samuel Sanchez, Ivan Basso, Damiano Cunego (three time winner of Il Lombardia-2004, 2007, 2008); Franco Pelizzotti (Italian Champion), Diego Ulissi and winner of last edition Oliver Zaugg who will start with No. 1.

The course:

Live streaming of the race by the Gazzetta dello Sport begins at 2:30 PM (Italy time), in Italian of course, here.

A time zone convertor you can use:

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, racing, etc. are always welcome.

Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Contact me at There are more than 2,600 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page. 

No comments:

Post a Comment