Monday, August 17, 2009

2009 UCI Road World Championship

The final elite men allocations for this year’s World Championship elite road race were released today by the International Cycling Union. The number of riders each country can send is based on a points formula. Switzerland, as the host nation, will be allowed field six riders despite only qualifying for three. The elite road race will take place in Mendrisio, Switzerland, on September 27th.

Countries will be required to submit their rider selections by September 16th.

Countries (some Italian practice) qualified to send 9 riders:
Italia, Spagna, Australia, Germania, Russia, Lussemburgo, Belgio, Gran Bretagna, Norvegia e Stati Uniti

Countries qualified to send 6 riders:
Sudafrica, Colombia, Venezuela, Kazakhstan, Francia, Olanda, Slovenia, Polonia, Ucraina, Danimarca

Countries qualified to send 3 riders:
Tunisia, Argentina, Brasile, Canada, Iran, Giappone, Portogallo, Estonia, Austria, Svizzera (permitted to send 6 as host country), Slovakia, Croatia, Ungheria, Svezia, Serbia, Lettonia, Nuova Zelanda, Repubblica Ceca, Irlanda, Bielorussia

Countries qualified to send 1 rider:
Lituania, Finlandia, Namibia, Cuba, Cile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Uruguay e Bulgaria.

Previous related story:

Stories, including cycling trip stories, for the Italian Cycling Journal welcome; contact

No comments:

Post a Comment