Monday, June 28, 2010

Lampre-Farnese Vini for Tour de France 2010

General Manager Saronni and his technical straff have selected the roster of the team that will take part in the Tour de France from July 3 to 25: Grega Bole, Damiano Cunego, Mauro Da Dalto, Francesco Gavazzi, Danilo Hondo, Mirco Lorenzetto, Adriano Malori, Alessandro Petacchi and Simon Spilak.

Lampre-Farnese will be directed by Maurizio Piovani and Valerio Tebaldi, supported by mechanics Biron, Bortoluzzo and Pengo, by masseurs Borgognoni, Capelli, Chiesa, Della Torre and Inselvini, by driver Bozzolo, by doctors Beltemacchi and Guardascione and by press officers Andrea Appiani and Carlo Saronni.

About the riders: there will be six Italian, two Slovenian, and one German cyclists. The average age will be 28 years (Malori is the the youngest, 22 years old, and Petacchi the oldest, 36 years). The average height will is 178 cm (Hondo, 186 cm, the tallest, Cunego, 169 cm, the shortest), while the average weight is be 69 kg (Cunego the lightest, 59 kg, Hondo the heaviest, 75 kg).

Five riders will be in their first Tour de France: Malori, Bole, Da Dalto, Gavazzi and Lorenzetto. The only one that has already won in Tour de France is Petacchi, winner of 4 stages in the Grande Boucle in 2003.

The only other Italian squad int his year's Tour de France is Liquigas - Doimo.

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are very welcome. Contact me at There are more than 1,400 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog and there is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.

No comments:

Post a Comment