Friday, March 9, 2012

2012 Tirreno-Adriatico, Stage 3 Results

Norwegian Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky Procycling) won the sprint finish in the 3rd stage of Tirreno–Adriatico, Indicatore to Terni, 178 km. Finishing 2nd and 3rd were Andrè Greipel (Lotto Belisol Team) and Peter Sagan (Team Liquigas - Cannondale).

Mark Cavendish gave his teammate Boasson Hagen the freedom to attack 6 km from the finish and he didn't waste the opportunity. "The team's plan was to work for Mark in the sprint again today," said Boasson Hagen. "But then, about 6 km from the finish Mark told me that he did not feel super. At that point the team went to work for me. It's nice to win and be able to complete the work of the team."

"I'm glad I had more of a chance than yesterday," said race leader Matthew Goss who retained the Maglia Azzurra again. "Today was quite difficult, in the end I was a bit too far back and it was not easy to recover positions in the curves leading up to the finish line. Nevertheless, I had good legs and I'm happy because I am sure to be in good condition for Milan-Sanremo."

Regarding tomorrow's stage from Amelia to Chieti, Passo Lanciano has been removed from the route due to "the hazardous weather conditions especially in the downhill segment of Passo Lanciano". This has left the Italian riders with the loss of an opportunity to improve in the GC standings (only Daniele Bennati is in the top 10 on GC). Nibali said, "It has ruined our plans a bit. It was a climb that could have been quite selective". Scarponi and Garzelli said that it basically made no difference. The final part of the stage should still be decisive. In Chieti, 2100 meters from the finish line, the riders enter via dei Marsi, where they face a very tough kilometre: 400 meters with an average gradient of 14% and as much as 19% in some points,then a roundabout and finally another 350 meters with a 15% gradient (via Tricalle).

Top three results:
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky Procycling) in 4h 45’ 31”
2. Andrè Greipel (Lotto Belisol Team) s.t.
3. Peter Sagan (Team Liquigas - Cannondale) a s.t.

Top 10 GC:
1 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team 11:36:44
2 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team 0:00:03
3 Cameron Meyer (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team
4 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) GreenEdge Cycling Team
5 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Barracuda 0:00:13
6 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
7 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:14
8 Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack-Nissan 0:00:20
9 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan
10 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Nissan

Maglia Azzurra – Classifica generale (GC): Matthew Goss (GreenEdge Cycling Team)
Maglia Bianca – Classifica giovani (Young Rider): Cameron Meyer (GreenEdge Cycling Team)
Maglia Rossa – Classifica a punti (Points): Mark Cavendish (Team Sky)
Maglia Verde – Classifica GPM (KOM): Stefano Pirazzi (Colnago – CSF Inox)

Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are always welcome. Contact me at There are more than 2,300 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page

No comments:

Post a Comment