Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Italian National Team for World Championships

Paolo Bettini, the new C.T. for the Italian national team, has made his selections for the Men's Elite World Championship road race to be held in Australia on October 3rd.

The team members will be:
Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)
Marzio Bruseghin (Caisse d'Epargne)
Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre Farnese)
Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas Doimo)
Daniel Oss (Liquigas Doimo)
Luca Paolini (Acqua&Sapone)
Marco Pinotti (HTC Columbia) note: replaced by Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) on Sept. 17
Matteo Tosatto (Quick Step)
Giovanni Visconti (Isd Neri)

Reserves: Rinaldo Nocentini (AG2r) e Andrea Tonti (Carmiooro NGC)

Not selected were Ballan and Bennati, both excellent riders.

The road race route will take riders from Melbourne to Geelong where there will be 11 laps. Total distance: 259.9 km.

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are very welcome. Contact me at veronaman@gmail.com. There are more than 1,500 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog and there is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.

1 comment:

  1. We hope Bettini has selected enough "indians" to go with so many "chiefs" and can create a team who'll work together for an Italian victory. FORZA AZZURRI!