Monday, July 4, 2011

2011 Tour de France, Stage 2

Team Garmin-Cervélo won the 23 km team time trial by 4 seconds giving them their first Tour stage victory ever. The victory gave team member Thor Hushovd the yellow jersey by 47 hundredths of a second over Cadel Evans.

Liquigas-Cannondale finished 15th, and Lampre - Isd 17th.

Afterwards, Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) said, "We had different expectations and there is regret for not being able to express ourselves as we wanted. We knew we had to pay for something against the better teams than us in the time trials, but the gap is too large. Compared to others we were missing something, including me."

Lampre - ISD sport director Maini thought that the first part of the time trial was not performed in a good way by the team: "We could not be competitive in the early kilometers, we didn't realize the performance that our qualities would have allowed to perform. We lost more than 30 seconds of our potential". Commented Adriano Malori, the Italian champion in time trial: "Maybe we started too slow, we calculated too much hoping to save energies for a full throttle final part of race. In effect, we performed a good final part of stage, but the gap was too large".

Stage results:
1 Team Garmin - Cervelo 0:24:48
2 BMC Racing Team 0:00:04
3 Sky Procycling
4 Team Leopard-Trek
5 HTC - Highroad 0:00:05
6 Team Radioshack 0:00:10
7 Rabobank Cycling Team 0:00:12
8 Saxo Bank Sungard 0:00:28
9 Pro Team Astana 0:00:32
10 Omega Pharma - Lotto 0:00:39
11 FDJ 0:00:46
12 Team Europcar 0:00:50
13 AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:53
14 Quick Step Cycling Team 0:00:56
15 Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:57
16 Saur-Sojasun 0:01:02
17 Lampre - Isd 0:01:04
18 Katusha Team
19 Movistar Team 0:01:09
20 Vacansoleil-Dcm 0:01:15
21 Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne 0:01:20
22 Euskaltel - Euskadi

Top 10 GC:
1 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 5:06:25
2 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:00:01
4 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:04
5 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard Trek
6 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
7 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard Trek
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
9 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team
10 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek

Photos: by Sirotti

Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are always welcome. Contact me at There are more than 2,000 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.

No comments:

Post a Comment