Friday, October 14, 2011

Tomorrow: Giro di Lombardia (Il Lombardia)

Tomorrow is the last big race of the season, and one of the five "monuments", the Giro di Lombadria (being renamed Il Lombardia, "the" Lombardia). The 105° edition will have Philippe Gilbert trying for a 3rd consecutive victory. After pulling out of the GranPiemonte yesterday, Gilbert is taking today to look at the new Il Lombardia course for this year.

Gilbert will have the top Italians to contend with: Cunego, Nibali, Basso, Mollema, and Visconti; Scarponi has pulled as he is taking medication for a tonsil problem.

The new course of 241 Km will have riders climb Valcava, Colle Brianza, Colma di Sormano, Ghisallo and the new Villa Vergano which is a 7km long, 12% max climb only 9km from the finish. Regarding the new course Cunego explained, "I've already covered the course of the race, I can confirm that it's demanding, there's no place to rest."

Past winners (1st, 2nd, 3rd):

2010 P. GILBERT (BEL) M. Scarponi (ITA) P. Lastras Garcia (ESP)
2009 P. GILBERT (BEL) S. Sanchez (ESP) A. Kolobnev (RUS)
2008 D. CUNEGO (ITA) J. Brajkovic (SLO) R. Uran (COL)
2007 D.CUNEGO (ITA) R. Riccò (ITA) S. Sanchez Gonzalez (ESP)
2006 P. BETTINI (ITA) S. Sanchez Gonzalez (ESP) F. Wegmann (GER)
2005 P. BETTINI (ITA) G. Simoni (ITA) F. Schleck (LUX)
2004 D.CUNEGO (ITA) M. Boogerd (NED) I. Basso (ITA)
2003 M.BARTOLI (ITA) M. Lopeboselli (ITA) D. Frigo (ITA)
2002 M.BARTOLI (ITA) D. Rebellin (ITA) O.Camenzind (SUI)
2001 D. DI LUCA (ITA) G. Figueras (ITA) M. Boogerd (NED)
2000 R. RUMSAS (LTU) F. Casagrande (ITA) N. Axelsson (SWE)
1999 M. CELESTINO (ITA) D. Di Luca (ITA) E. Mazzoleni (ITA)
1998 O. CAMENZIND (SUI) M. Boogerd (NED) F. Puttini (SUI)
1997 L. JALABERT (FRA) P. Lanfranchi (ITA) F. Casagrande (ITA)
1996 A. TAFI (ITA) F. Jeker (SUI) A. Merckx (BEL)
1995 G. FARESIN (ITA) D. Nardello (ITA) M.Bartoli (ITA)
1994 V. BOBRIKE (RUS) C. Chiappucci (ITA) P. Richard (SUI)
1993 P. RICHARD (SUI) G. Furlan (ITA) M. Sciandri (ITA)
1992 T. ROMINGER (SUI) C. Chiappucci (ITA) D. Cassani (ITA)
1991 S. KELLY (IRL) M. Gayant (FRA) F. Ballerini (ITA)
1990 G. DELION (FRA) P. Richard (SUI) C. Mottet (FRA)
1989 T. ROMINGER (SUI) G. Delion (FRA) L. Roosen (BEL)
1988 C. MOTTET (FRA) G. Bugno (ITA) M. Lejarreta (ESP)
1987 M. ARGENTIN (ITA) E. Van Lancker (BEL) M. Madiot (FRA)
1986 G.B. BARONCHELLI (ITA) S. Kelly (IRL) P. Anderson (AUS)
1985 S. KELLY (IRL) A. Van der Poel (NED) C. Mottet (FRA)
1984 B. HINAULT (FRA) L.Peeters (BEL) T. Van Vliet (NED)
1983 S. KELLY (IRL) G. Lemond (USA) A. Van der Poel (NED)
1982 G. SARONNI (ITA) P. Jules (FRA) F. Moser (ITA)
1981 H. KUIPER (NED) M. Argentin (ITA) A. Chinetti (ITA)
1980 F. DE WOLF (BEL) A. Chinetti (ITA) L. Peeters (BEL)
1979 B. HINAULT (FRA) S. Contini (ITA) G. Battaglin (ITA)
1978 F. MOSER (ITA) B. Johansson (SWE) B. Hinault (FRA)
1977 G.B. BARONCHELLI (ITA) J.L. Vandenbroucke (BEL) F. Bitossi (ITA)
1976 R. DE VLAEMINCK (BEL) B. Thévenet (FRA) W. Panizza (ITA)
1975 F. MOSER (ITA) E. Paolini (ITA) A. Chinetti (ITA)
1974 R. DE VLAEMINCK (BEL) E. Merckx (BEL) T. Conti (ITA)
1973** F. GIMONDI (ITA) R. De Vlaeminck (BEL) H. Vanspringel (BEL)
1972 E. MERCKX (BEL) C. Guimard (FRA) F. Gimondi (ITA)
1971 E. MERCKX (BEL) F. Bitossi (ITA) F. Verbeeck (BEL)
1970 F. BITOSSI (ITA) F. Gimondi (ITA) G. Motta (ITA)
1969* J. MONSERE’ (BEL) H. Vanspringel (BEL) F. Bitossi (ITA)
1968 H. VANSPRINGEL (BEL) F. Bitossi (ITA) E. Merckx (BEL)
1967 F. BITOSSI (ITA) F. Gimondi (ITA) R. Poulidor (FRA)
1966 F. GIMONDI (ITA) E. Merckx (BEL) R. Poulidor (FRA)
1965 T. SIMPSON (GBR) G. Karstens (NED) J. Stablinski (FRA)
1964 G. MOTTA (ITA) C. Preziosi (ITA) J. Hoevenaars (BEL)
1963 J. DE ROO (NED) A. Durante (ITA) D. Dancelli (ITA)
1962 J. DE ROO (NED) L. Trapè (ITA) A. Cerato (ITA)
1961 V. TACCONE (ITA) I. Massignan (ITA) R. Fontona (ITA)
1960 E. DAEMS (BEL) D. Ronchini (ITA) M. Fontana (ITA)
1959 R. VAN LOOY (BEL) W. Vannitsen (BEL) M. Poblet (ESP)
1958 N. DEFILIPPIS (ITA) M. Poblet (ESP) M. Van Aerde (BEL)
1957 D. RONCHINI (ITA) B. Monti (ITA) A. Cestari (ITA)
1956 A. DARRIGADE (FRA) F. Coppi (ITA) F. Magni (ITA)
1955 C. MAULE (ITA) F. De Bruyne (BEL) A. Conterno (ITA)
1954 F. COPPI (ITA) F. Magni (ITA) M. De Rossi (ITA)
1953 B. LANDI (ITA) P. Cerami (ITA) P. Molinéris (FRA)
1952 G. MINARDI (ITA) N. Defilippis (ITA) A. Padovan (ITA)
1951 L. BOBET (FRA) G. Minardi (ITA) F. Coppi (ITA)
1950 E. SOLDANI (ITA) A. Bevilacqua (ITA) F. Coppi (ITA)
1949 F. COPPI (ITA) F. Kübler (SUI) N. Logli (ITA)
1948 F. COPPI (ITA) A. Leoni (ITA) F. Schaer (SUI)
1947 F. COPPI (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA) I. De Zan (ITA)
1946 F. COPPI (ITA) L. Casola (ITA) M. Motta (ITA)
1945 M. RICCI (ITA) A. Bini (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA)
1942 A. BINI (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA) Q. Toccacelli (ITA)
1941 M. RICCI (ITA) C. Cinelli (ITA) A. Bini (ITA)
1940 G. BARTALI (ITA) O. Bailo (ITA) C. Cinelli (ITA)
1939 G. BARTALI (ITA) A. Leoni (ITA) S. Crippa (ITA)
1938 C. CINELLI (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA) O. Bailo (ITA)
1937 A. BINI (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA) A. Landi (ITA)
1936 G. BARTALI (ITA) D. Marabelli (ITA) L. Barral (ITA)
1935 E. MOLLO (ITA) A. Bini (ITA) G. Bartali (ITA)
1934 L.GUERRA (ITA) M. Cipriani (ITA) D. Piemontesi (ITA)
1933 D. PIEMONTESI (ITA) L. Barral (ITA) P. Rimoldi (ITA)
1932 A. NEGRINI (ITA) D. Piemontesi (ITA) R. Bertoni (ITA)
1931 A. BINDA (ITA) M. Mara (ITA) G. Firpo (ITA)
1930 M. MARA (ITA) A. Binda (ITA) L. Guerra (ITA)
1929 P. FOSSATI (ITA) A. Zanaga (ITA) R. Di Paco (ITA)
1928 G. BELLONI (ITA) A. Grandi (ITA) P. Fossati (ITA)
1927 A. BINDA (ITA) A. Piccin (ITA) A. Negrini (ITA)
1926 A. BINDA (ITA) A. Negrini (ITA) E. Vallazza (ITA)
1925 A. BINDA (ITA) B. Giuntelli (ITA) E. Vallazza (ITA)
1924 G. BRUNERO (ITA) C. Girardengo (ITA) P. Linari (ITA)
1923 G. BRUNERO (ITA) P. Linari (ITA) F. Gay (ITA)
1922 C. GIRARDENGO (ITA) G. Azzini (ITA) B. Aymo (ITA)
1921 C. GIRARDENGO (ITA) G. Belloni (ITA) F. Gay (ITA)
1920 H. PELISSIER (FRA) G. Brunero (ITA) G. Belloni (ITA)
1919 C. GIRARDENGO (ITA) G. Belloni (ITA) H. Suter (SUI)
1918 G. BELLONI (ITA) A. Sivocci (ITA) C. Galetti (ITA)
1917 P. THIJS (BEL) H. Pélissier (FRA) L. Torricelli (ITA)
1916 L. TORRICELLI (ITA) G. Belloni (ITA) C. Bertarelli (ITA)
1915 G. BELLONI (ITA) P. Ferrari (ITA) G. Garavaglia (ITA)
1914 L. BORDIN (ITA) G. Azzini (ITA) P. Piacco (ITA)
1913 H. PELISSIER (FRA) M. Brocco (ITA) M. Godivier (FRA)
1912 C. ORIANI (ITA) E. Verde (ITA) M. Brocco (ITA)
1911 H. PELISSIER (FRA) G. Micheletto (ITA) C. Van Hauwaert (BEL)
1910 G. MICHELETTO (ITA) L. Ganna (ITA) L. Bailo (ITA)
1909 G. CUNIOLO (ITA) O. Beaugendre (FRA) L. Trousselier (FRA)
1908 F. FABER (LUX) L. Ganna (ITA) G. Gerbi (ITA)
1907 G. GARRIGOU (FRA) E. Azzini(ITA) L. Ganna (ITA)
1906 C. BRAMBILLA (ITA) C. Galetti (ITA) L. Ganna (ITA)
1905 G. GERBI (ITA) G. Rossignoli (ITA) L. Ganna (ITA)

* Gerben Karstens (NED) giunto primo venne retrocesso (Kartsens, relegated)
** Eddy Merckx (BEL) giunto primo venne squalificato (Merckx disqualified, positive for Mucantil)
Beginning next year the race moves to the weekend after the World Championships, read more here.
Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are always welcome. Contact me at There are more than 2,100 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.


  1. Small correction, Betancour is Colombian.

  2. We're here, just a minute's walk from the Ghisallo waiting for tomorrow's race. Locals say the weather will be cold but clear so our plan is to take the bikes down a ways to see the race come up the Sormano, then ride against the course to see them arrive atop Ghisallo, then race back to the hotel to see the finale on the big screen. This will be Larry's 2nd of the 5 monuments of cycling seen live. Vai Cunego!