Wednesday, May 30, 2012

2012 GiroDonne (Giro d’Italia Femminile)

The 23rd edition of the GiroDonne, Giro d’Italia Femminile (Women's Giro d'Italia), get's underway on June 29th in Naples according to the race presentation yesterday. After nine stages the race, the most important stage race on the women's calendar, will finish in Bergamo. The race will cover nearly 1000 km through seven regions, Campania, Lazio, Tuscany, Emilia Romagna, Veneto, Piedmont and Lombardy.

The stages:
29 June: Napoli - Terracina (LT) 139 km
30 June: Roma - Roma 8 km individual time trial
1 July: Montecatini (PT) - Montecatini (PT) 99 km
2 July: Vernio (PO) - Castiglione dei Pepoli (BO) 126 km
3 July: Polesella (RO) - Molinella (BO) 126 km
4 July: Modena - Salsomaggiore (PR) 124 km
5 July: Salice Terme (PV) - Castagnole delle Lanze (AT) 120 km
6 July: Crugnola di Mornago (VA) - Lonate Pozzolo (VA) 117 km
7 July: Sarnico (BG) - Bergamo 108 km

Sara Brambilla, head of the organizing committee, after the presentation of the race route route explained: "Despite the critical current economic situation and the non-payment of one of last year's jersey sponsors, that caused us a lot of problems, we are proud to announce that GiroDonne this year will take place as planned. A heartfelt thank you goes to our traditional sponsors and the new ones who believe in our project. I'm also sure that this year female cycling will give us great emotions."

Noemi Cantele, Italian national champion, with the new newly designed Maglia Rosa for the 2012 edition:

In the coming days the organizing committee will be providing details about the team that will be participating and the stage details.

Marianne Voss will be returning to defend her 2011 title. Past winners:
2011 Voss Marianne (NED)
2010 Abbott Mara USA
2009 Hausler Claudia GER
2008 Luperini Fabiana ITA
2007 Pucinskaite E. LIT
2006 Pucinskaite E. LIT
2005 Brandli Nicole SVI
2004 Cooke Nicole GBR
2003 Brandli Nicole SVI
2002 Boubnenkova S. RUS
2001 Brandli Nicole SVI
2000 Somarriba Joane ESP
1999 Somarriba Joane ESP
1998 Luperini Fabiana ITA
1997 Luperini Fabiana ITA
1996 Luperini Fabiana ITA
1995 Luperini Fabiana ITA
1994 Fanini Michela ITA
1993 Lenka Llavaska SVK
1990 Marsal Catherine FRA
1989 Bonanomi Roberta ITA
1988 Canins Maria ITA

Photo: 2011 GiroDonne by CJ Farquharson

Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, touring, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are always welcome. Contact me at There are more than 2,400 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.  

No comments:

Post a Comment