Saturday, May 28, 2011

Giro d'Italia, Stage 20

Brief report today.

Vasili Kiryienka (Movistar Team) won the twentieth stage of the 94th Giro d’Italia. The winner completed the route in 6:17’03” at the average speed of 38,509 km/h. José Rujano Guillen (Androni Giocattoli) was second at -4:43 and Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Katusha Team) third at -4:45. Scarponi added another 22 seconds over his GC lead of Nibali.

Top 10 GC:
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 83:34:25
2 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD 0:05:18
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:06:14
4 John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:07:49
5 Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 0:09:27
6 José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli 0:10:23
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana 0:10:38
8 Denis Menchov (Rus) Geox-TMC 0:10:51
9 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:12:56
10 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:12:57

Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank Sungard) is the Maglia Rosa Estathé, 5’18” ahead of Michele Scarponi (Lampre – ISD) and 6’14” ahead of Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas – Cannondale).
Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank Sungard) is the Maglia Rosso Passione Gruppo Saint-Gobain.
Roman Kreuziger (Pro Team Astana) is the Maglia Bianca Adecco.
Stefano Garzelli (Acqua & Sapone) is the Maglia Verde Banca Mediolanum.

Stage 21, Sunday, will be an individual time trial to conclude the 2011 Giro d'Italia. See here for latest details regarding the modified route.

Follow on Twitter: ITALIANCYCJOURN

Stories for the Italian Cycling Journal about rides, granfondos, watching and touring during the Giro, having a good time cycling in Italy, Italian cycling history, etc. are always welcome.
Contact me at There are more than 1,900 stories in this blog. The search feature to the right works best for finding subjects in the blog. There is also a translate button at the bottom so you can translate each page.

No comments:

Post a Comment